adult's clothing, Cashmerette, sewing

Appleton the first

Another day, another bandwagon.  This is one that I hadn’t really planned to jump on.  After all, I have plenty of wrap, faux wrap, and surplice bodice dresses in my extensive pattern stash.  But you know me, new and sparkly, it’s hard to resist, especially after I started seeing some lovely versions of the pattern popping up on blogs and instagram.  I gave the Cashmerette Appleton dress a try.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

And oh yes, I like it! It’s one of those situations where I think that I got the pattern and fabric match just right. The fabric is a viscose/lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics – and I actually paid full price for this one! The background is chocolate brown, not black as your computer monitor might suggest, and the lime green, grey and hot pink circles add a lot of fun.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

I sewed the smallest size, the 12C/D, and didn’t make any alterations. I have heard others say that the waist ties were too high for them, but I’m short-waisted so I thought that they were fine.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Because of my tummy (that I always suck in for photos), I prefer to tie the ties without wrapping them above my middle. They only wrap around the back then tie next to the wrap at the front.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

I didn’t make any alterations to the pattern. I found that the neck band did sit beautifully, as promised, and the front wraps around in a neckline that, while definitely low, does not gape or expose me. In the obligatory learning right forward photo you can glimpse a tiny bit of bra ribbon, but that is all. It’s fine in everyday wear!

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

The skirt is quite straight. That is fine on me, as I am relatively slim hipped as compared to my mid-section, but I suspect that others might want to add some fullness, especially if they are using a viscose/lycra knit similar to this one. I think that there would be too much negative ease there otherwise. The sleeves are a slightly funny length on me too – right on the bend of the elbow, neither here not there in terms of being short or long.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

The pattern description from the website is as follows: Meet the Appleton Dress, your new wardrobe staple. This classic wrap dress is designed to play up your curves with a crossover front, a built-in waist tie, and a deep V-neck. Designed by and for curvy women, the Appleton’s innovative neckband construction prevents gaping across your bust. Do a celebratory shimmy, because this bodice has you well covered! SEWING LEVEL: Advanced beginner. SIZING: 12 to 28, in three cup sizes (C/D, E/F, G/H). RECOMMENDED FABRIC: Light to midweight knit fabric such as jersey or ITY, with at least 50% crosswise stretch.

Most construction was on the overlocker. I used a zig-zag stitch in chocolate brown on the sewing machine to secure the hems and the neckband after it had been joined to the dress. I had no issues with assembling the dress or with sizing. I think that this is a great addition to the world of plus-sized sewing patterns. I don’t generally think of myself as plus-sized, but I’m around 8kg over the recommended weight range for my height, so I suppose that considering that fact and that I fit into these patterns, I probably am! Remember that 2-D photos can be quite deceiving – I carry the majority of my weight on my front, so you can’t always see it in blog photos. I’ll be watching with interest as Jenny from Cashmerette adds to her plus size pattern collection.

Cashmerette Appleton dress in viscose lycra from Darn Cheap Fabrics

And did you notice the title of this blog post? Yes, there is already an Appleton the second….