adult's clothing, sewing

Jalie 2918 – tees for him

I was recently given Jalie 2918, a men’s t-shirt pattern.  Since I’d noticed that my husband could do with a few new tees, I made him one.

Jalie 2918 in cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Yes, the fabric is pretty crazy! It’s a cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics, and he liked it so much that I went back and bought some more of their cotton jersey black on colour prints. And made another one.

Jalie 2918 tee in cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics

And another one.

Jalie 2918 in cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics

And another.

Jalie 2918 tee in cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Oh wait, there’s one more!

Jalie 2918 tee in cotton jersey from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Jalie describe this pattern as: Men’s and boys’ fitted tees with choice of sleeves (short, long or double-layered) and necklines (crew neck or V-neck). The long sleeve crew-neck tee in a stretch fleece or thermal knit makes and excellent thermal layer (long underwear). Obviously we went for the simple crew neck. I traced size X, which was a size larger than my husband’s measurements.  The cotton jersey is very stable and not super stretchy, so I figured that it would be more comfortable cut with that little bit more room.  All the construction was done on the overlocker, and hems were topstitched in place with the twin needle on the sewing machine.  I didn’t even stabilise them first; that’s how stable this jersey is.  They take less than an hour to make, including cutting out time.  What an excellent basic!