children's clothing, kids clothing, sewing

Nessie top for Stella

Anna has churned out a plethora of Nessie tops recently.  A great simple t-shirt style, but with the added interest of a curved front yoke seam and a gentle flare. And what am I if not a follower?

Nessie Top

Stella was in full “modelling” mode when I took these snaps – I have a myriad of rather hilarious shots! Her Nessie top is made from Spotlight printed sweatshirt fabric of the same type as Clare’s Perri Pullover – smooth and printed on one side, thick and fleecy on the other. Perfect for winter! I paired it with some cream loop-backed knit that I had in stash. It’s more white than the cream part of the printed sweatshirting so doesn’t match exactly, but I figure that it “tones” (and beggars can’t be choosers. Have you tried matching whites or creams lately? Aaarrrrggghhhh).

Nessie Top

The hem curves up a little at the sides, so down in the centre front and centre back.

Nessie Top and Go To Leggings

After measuring Stella – who has also grown considerably over the last year – I decided to make this in a size 6 throughout to allow for the relative firmness and thickness of the sweatshirt fabric. She measured about a size 3 in width, and in retrospect I should have probably made this in a size 5 length with size 4 width. But at the rate she is growing it won’t be long before it fits a little better.

Nessie Top

Aren’t those deer and rabbits sweet! I stitched a contrasting pink ribbon and braid trim from stash along the top of the curved yoke seam before sewing the side seams, and used pink thread in the twin needle to topstitch the hems and around the neckband.

Nessie Top and Go To Leggings

While I’m at it, I’ll give a call out about the Go To Leggings pattern. It’s such a great basic one piece legging pattern. I made the striped leggings in size 4 width with size 6 length for Stella, and they are pretty much perfect. They were actually made to coordinate with the bands on the Perri Pullover that I made for Stella but haven’t blogged yet.

Go To Leggings

The leggings are in a lovely pink/grey marle viscose/spandex from Darn Cheap Fabrics. Stella loves the feel of this fabric on her legs, and Clare has requested something (anything!) made from the same fabric. My girls know their fibres! I might have to go back and get more of this stripe. And no, it wasn’t on the discount table.

Nessie Top and Go To Leggings

I’m really on a roll with knit sewing at the moment. I have a Sewjourn trip coming up in just a couple of weeks time, and have been cutting out loads of knit garments for winter.  Oh, the instant gratification!  It all makes for plenty of blog fodder – I just need to remember to get the photos taken and blog posts written.

Nessie Top and Go To Leggings