adult's clothing, sewing

prints charming skirt #2

A few finished skirts from Karen’s SIT Sew What Skirts Sewalong have appeared in blogland lately.  Time for me to share my latest one!

IMG_2215

The skirt front fabrics are all from Prints Charming, and I used a modified version of my a-line skirt pattern to make a knee length skirt with a side zip and a facing at the waist rather than a yoke.  I sewed the zip onto the outside of the skirt for a little bit of fun – not that anyone will ever see it, but I know it’s there.

IMG_2217

The fabric for the back is a self-stripe from stash, and I used striped bias binding for the inside hem. I now wish that I’d let it peek out a little like Sheridan’s.  I am planning to do some embroidery on this skirt (and the one I made earlier) but don’t hold your breath.  Have a look at Karen’s and Donna‘s and Gillian’s skirts too – just gorgeous!  I’m impressed at how the different colour palettes really alter the look of the skirt.  Although it’s probably a good thing that we live in different cities since otherwise we definitely run the risk of all turning up to the same event wearing the same style of skirt…

IMG_2210

The cardi is the Everyday Cardi from Crochet Today! – details here and Ravelled here.