adult's clothing, sewing

and another one… Prints Charming skirts #3 and #4

Once I saw other people’s SIT sewalong skirts popping up on blogs I decided that I needed to use up the last of my Prints Charming packs.  All the different colour combinations were just too enticing!  So here is skirt #3.

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #3

Once again I used a variation of the a-line skirt with yoke pattern I gratefully obtained from a friend.  This time I made it a longer length, with a lined yoke, exposed side zip and bias bound hem.  And while I was at it I made another one for my cousin Freya.

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #4 & #3

Freya and I often wear a similar size but she has a much narrower waist than me.  I used the same pattern but continued the yoke curve up a couple of inches. Let’s hope that it fits her – it’s going in the mail this weekend.

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #4

The large pink/orange spotted fabric in the centre right is not from Prints Charming – I needed a teensy bit more fabric to make certain I had enough to piece the fronts so added this from my stash. I used stretch denim from stash for the yokes and backs of the skirts, which required a little judicious cutting and for my skirt, the use of a “design feature” with some exposed selvedge.

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #3

The yoke lining and hem binding was cut from quilting cotton, left over from Clare’s Christmas dress.  The colours matched perfectly – it was meant to be!  And for anyone who is inclined to add an external zip to their skirt, here’s a closeup.  I suggest that if you are going to do this, you need to choose an interesting and/or substantial zip.  Probably one with metal teeth rather than plastic. 

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #4 - exposed zip detail

After the yoke was attached to the skirt, I basted the side seam together from the waist to the length of the zip, then finished sewing it at a shorter stitch length.  I pinned the zip on top and just top stitched it into place.  Then I undid the basting stitches.  Ta-da!  The top of the zipper tape is sewn into the yoke lining, which was also top-stitched into place.  So there you go – four Prints Charming SIT Sewalong Skirts – you can see version 1 here and version 2 here.  Thanks so much to Karen for leading a marvellous sewalong and inspiring us to stop admiring our PC packs and actually make them into something!

SIT Prints Charming Skirtalong #3