adult's clothing, sewing

Style Arc Como knit cardigan

I’m still working through my ‘nojourn’ garments.  The Style Arc Como knit cardigan is a repeat pattern – you can see my first version here.

Style Arc Como cardigan in knit from Super Cheap Fabrics

For this second version I took my own advice and used a more stable knit than the first time, as well as decent quality thread in the overlocker. I even remembered to shorten the sleeves at the cutting out stage – I could have shortened them a little more; they’re still a fraction long – and added the patch pockets this time around.
Style Arc Como cardigan in knit from Super Cheap Fabrics

The back seaming worked very nicely in this fabric. It’s a jacquard knit from Super Cheap Fabrics. It doesn’t appear to be on the website any longer. I have a feeling that when I ordered it, the description said that it was blue/navy – it’s not; it’s definitely grey! One of the perils of ordering fabric online is that some sites do a better job than others with both their photography and their fabric descriptions – colour, composition, fabric type etc. I’ve found a few times that what I have recieved from Super Cheap isn’t exactly what was described, as have other people that I know. From what I have heard they are very happy to refund etc if this happens, but I really do wish that it didn’t happen in the first place.

Style Arc Como cardigan in knit from Super Cheap Fabrics

The patch pockets are well placed for cardigan pockets. I paid careful attention when attaching the sleeeves to this cardi, remembering that last time I had issues with pulling, maybe partly due to the grain changes at the back armhole. I made sure that I didn’t have seam allowance bulk caught in the seamlines by stopping and starting my stitching just either side of the seamline intersections, leaving the seam allowances free. It has definitely helped with the comfort and the fit of this cardi.

Style Arc Como cardigan in knit from Super Cheap Fabrics

From the Style Arc website: This long-line fashionable cardi sewing pattern is a must have addition to your wardrobe. It has a cleverly designed all-in-one dropped shoulder line and a front band that hugs the neckline. This cardigan is finished off with two lovely large patch pockets. FABRIC SUGGESTION: Wool jersey, baby wool, sweater knit

como-knit-cardi

It seems that more grey garments are slowly appearing in my wardrobe – a bit like the grey appearing in my hair! It’s actually time for me to do another big clear out and decide on which garments that I want to keep. There’s a lot that hasn’t been worn this winter, especially clothes that I generally wear to work. It’s possibly time to only have a small capsule of work clothes, anticipating that eventually I will be doing some work back out on site, but mostly have non-work clothes. Time to figure out what my favourites are!

Style Arc Como cardigan in knit from Super Cheap Fabrics