adult's clothing, sewing, tessuti patterns

Tessuti Alice (again)

Do you remember the first time that I sewed the Tessuti Alice dress, in a gorgeous linen with feature yoke, in my usual Tessuti size of Medium?  It was WAY too big for me.  Fortunately, after letting the hem down it has been successfully re-homed in my mother’s wardrobe.  Hooray for others happy to take what I’ve sewn!  Anyway, I’ve made it again.  This was actually sewn weeks ago, but I didn’t manage photos until yesterday.

Tessuti Alice dress in rayon from Darn Cheap Fabrics

This time I sewed the Extra Small, two sizes smaller than last time, and I’m very pleased with it. You can really see the difference at the armhole. The Medium:

Tessuti Alice dress in Darn Cheap Fabrics linen - way too big

And the Extra Small:

Tessuti Alice dress in rayon from Darn Cheap Fabrics

I think I’ve waxed lyrical about this fabric before. It’s rayon from the Darn Cheap Fabrics $2 table, and I used it in a dress for Clare. I also have a Sewaholic Pendrell for my cousin cut out from the same fabric. The colours are superb! And I always prefer a more abstract or graphic floral to a detailed, more realistic one. This ticks all the boxes.

Tessuti Alice dress in rayon from Darn Cheap Fabrics

I didn’t make any alterations to the pattern other than to shorten it a bit. I used a double folded one inch hem, so two inches in total. That gives the hemline just that bit more weight so that it hangs well. Something I really like about this dress is that the gathers are restricted to the centres of the front and back skirt, which means that the overall silhouette at the sides is fairly straight. Remember, I’m never really looking for waist definition.

Tessuti Alice dress in rayon from Darn Cheap Fabrics

I can tell that this dress will be worn quite a bit. It feels like a happy dress – all that colour! And rayon is always so comfortable. I’ll possibly use the pattern again for a top at some stage too – I’ve seen many lovely versions with a contrast yoke. Other than that, there’s not much more to report! It’s easy to sew, but watch the multitude of different seam allowances used at different stages throughout the pattern. I think that there are three!

Tessuti Alice dress in rayon from Darn Cheap Fabrics