adult's clothing, sewing

Deer & Doe Plantain tee

Oh, the free tee patterns.  They are proliferating at the moment!  I jumped onto the Plantain bandwagon recently.

Deer & Doe Plantain tee

There’s not a whole lot to say about this pattern, other than I like it! It is quite similar to the Tessuti Lola pattern in that the body has a gentle flare through the waist and hips. Coincidentally, the Plantain pattern came out less than 24 hours after I bought the Lola tee. However, when I laid one pattern on top of the other there are some differences in the armhole curve and the degree of flare.

Deer & Doe Plantain tee

I cut across a few different sizes, grading across from one to the other through the shoulders, bust, waist then hips. I’ve already packed the pattern away so can’t tell you which ones exactly I used, but remember that I pretty much chose the sizes according to my measurements, and my waist measurement is about two sizes larger than my hip measurement and one size larger than my bust measurement. Clear as mud? I completely ignored the instructions and constructed the t-shirt in the usual way. Sewed up one shoulder seam, attached the neckband, sewed up the other shoulder seam, attached the sleeves, then sewed up the side and sleeve seams in one go. Hems and neckband topstitching were done with the twin needle on the machine.

Deer & Doe Plantain tee - neckband

I used fabric from the Darn Cheap Fabrics $2 per metre table. It is lovely and soft, but I don’t know that I particularly like this fabric on me. I think it needs a red scarf or similar to lift it a bit. Maybe the stripes are just that bit too far apart.  I definitely won’t be styling it as in the below photo – I was just desperate to get it photographed!

Plantain tee

I should have taken a side photo, because I have to say that my stripe matching down the sleeve and side seams is perfect!  The Plantain is a great free tee. I’ll definitely be adding it to my arsenal of tee patterns.