adult's clothing, DCF Challenge, Pattern Fantastique, sewing

Three birds with one stone

Three birds in one:

* my third Aeolian (the first dress)

* my first make for Jungle January

* my Summer DCF Seasonal Challenge garment!

Pattern Fantastique Aeolian dress in linen from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Emma and I started our Darn Cheap Fabrics seasonal challenge in Spring, and here we are already with our Summer efforts! We chose this fabric together when Emma was down from Sydney just before Christmas. I knew exactly what I wanted to make from it!

Pattern Fantastique Aeolian dress in linen from Darn Cheap Fabrics

This is a fairly stiff medium weight linen, so it really plays with the sculptural shapes of the pattern. Although the Aeolian Tee/Dress was designed for knits, it appears to work quite nicely in wovens as well, although with a different silhouette. I sewed up size Medium, cut to the knee length dress, but took a six inch hem.

Pattern Fantastique Aeolian dress in linen from Darn Cheap Fabrics

Because I was using a woven rather than a knit, I finished the neckline with bias binding (home made from stash) sewn to the right side then turned to the inside and stitched into place. I also turned a narrow hem along the back facing before topstitching it down.  There’s not much more to say about this that I haven’t said already (or that Anna hasn’t said – her linen Aeolian is here) – and construction was very fast and straightforward.  I wore it to work today in Melbourne’s heat/humidity/storms, and it was wonderful.  Loose, boxy, yet it feels modern and stylish.  I keep on thinking of other fabrics that I could make it in – stretch lace, merino knits for winter, soft drapey knits, maybe add piping to the raglan seam lines – the list in my mind goes on and on!

Pattern Fantastique Aeolian dress in linen from Darn Cheap Fabrics

So, have you spotted all the elements that make this dress a perfect candidate for Jungle January? What can you see in the print?

Now I need to head on over to Emma’s blog and find out what her fabric became! Hooray!

Pattern Fantastique Aeolian dress in linen from Darn Cheap Fabrics