books, patchwork, quilting

modern blocks

Stash Books have a new book coming out in October called “Modern Blocks”.  It contains instructions for 99 different twelve inch blocks, and, um, one of them is mine.Modern Blocks

That’s a photo of the cover and three more of the blocks contained in the book. And see that diamond shaped block on the front cover in the bottom left corner? That is mine! Rita’s Diamond. You might remember it from Around The Block – when Rita requested blocks made from half-square triangles, I made this one for her.  So I named it for her too!

ATB May for Rita - 9.5" square

The above block that I made Rita was a 9.5 inch block, so I’ve resized it and remade it to 12 inches (finished) for Modern Blocks.  The block on the cover is the one in the book (made in Kaffe Fassett fabrics of course).

I am more than a little bit excited about being part of Modern Blocks and I can’t wait to actually get my hands on a copy and see what other blocks are inside.  Stash Books have a very impressive range of craft authors and books, including one of my favourite quilting books The Practical Guide to Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman.  It was Elizabeth’s blog that started me on the quilting path, and I am thrilled to have a little quilt block in a book published by the same company as Elizabeth’s.