miscellaneous

Sew It Together 2011

Sew It Together was wonderful.  I am still trying to recover – I was in bed before my three year old once I was home again on Sunday night.  So, where to start? Here’s the abbreviated version:

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

Friday – a morning flight to Sydney. Checked in to the best hostel ever, The Rocks Sydney Harbour YHA. What a location! What a view! A short trip to Kinokuniya to drool over the Japanese craft books, then off to Prints Charming for a stitching session. Lovely!

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

Dinner was hearty German food at Lowenbrau with around ten other SIT-ers. Yummo! Then off to bed. On Saturday morning a group of us were up bright and early – 6.30am – for a brisk one hour power walk around the harbour. Sydney is just so very beautiful. Then the Saturday Craft Session began. There was so much packed into one day, I don’t really know where to begin. I crocheted a scarf until I ran out of yarn, but I mostly chatted and admired and was inspired.

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

Satuday night was dinner out – pork belly for me! Yummo. Then around ten of us went out for karaoke and dancing – it’s been a long time since I’ve done that. But hey, I Will Survive…

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

Sunday morning saw us a little bleary eyed but off to Material Obsession for another wonderful session with Kathy, who shared her passion and knowledge with us so generously. What an amazing woman.

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

And speaking of amazing women – thanks so much to Sheridan and her sidekick Donna for organising and running the weekend.  You deserve medals!

Sew It Together 2011- Sydney

There is so much more to say about the weekend but I’m still too tired! You can find much more cohesive and eloquent accounts of all its joys over here from Michelle and here from Kathy.  Thanks also go to the generous sponsors who provided us with packed goody bags and lots of shopping opportunities.  I had the best roomies ever, renewed friendships, made new ones, and had a wonderful time.