children's clothing, kids clothing, sewing

Tiptoe through the…

Tulips.  I’ve finally completed two tulip dresses that were cut out almost a year ago. Surely I’m not the only one who has projects sitting around unfinished for that long!  Here’s Clare’s.

Tulip dress, size 6 for Clare.  Pattern by Nicole Mallalieu

One of the things that I love about this dress is the way that the bodice has been drafted and the little construction tips that make it sit so perfectly around the neckline and armholes. It’s worth the teensy bit of extra time to put it together properly according to the instructions to have the top sit so beautifully. The piping detail between the bodice and skirt is lovely too.

Tulip dress, size 6 for Clare.  Pattern by Nicole Mallalieu

If it seems a little familiar, that’s because it’s the same as the one I made Stella when I tested the pattern for Nikki many, many months ago. 

Tulip dresses - pattern by Nicole Mallalieu

Luckily Stella’s dress still fits her, and they can be “the same” to their heart’s content!

Tulip dresses - pattern by Nicole Mallalieu

Oh, the fabrics?  My memory is a little like a sieve but I think that the red fabric came from GJ’s and the white floral…I have no idea.  Both are woven cotton with a little bit of stretch.