crochet

My granny shrug

Here’s my version of Kirsty’s Granny Shrug.

my granny shrug

It’s crocheted with a 15mm hook, using two strands of Patons Jet (wool/alpaca 12 ply) held together. It took around 10 balls of yarn. I worked 8 rounds for each half and got very loose and drapey fabric with super chunky trebles. Just what I was hoping for!

granny shrug - back seam detail

I seamed up the back and along the top of the sleeves in dc (US sc) using a 12mm hook, and did dc around the back of the neck as well to stabilise. That’s it! It’s been very warm and toasty today – a little like wearing a granny square blanket.

Thanks go to Kirsty for attacking the challenge of “how do you make this?” with such relish and coming up with terrific instructions and sharing them so freely.  Thanks also Kirsty for letting me be part of the granny shrug adventure!  You’re ace.