craft, crochet

Crocheted cushions

These cushions have been works in progress for a few months.  I am on a “get-almost-finished-things-finished” binge at the moment and managed to finish off the closures, buy inserts, and get these sewn together in little dribs and drabs during the past week.

Crocheted cushions - closer by you.

You’ve seen parts of each of these before.  The stich patterns are all from Sarah London’s Hip to Hook club.

Flower cushion by you.

The flower cushion looks much better with the insert to puff it all up!  Here’s the back.

Cushion back A by you.

Following the example set by Lucy I used one of my Mum’s old wool jumpers for the back.  We ran it through the washing machine a few times first to ensure that it was nicely fulled, then I was able to get two cushion backs from the one jumper.  I used the other piece for the larksfoot cushion below.

Larksfoot cushion by you.

It’s an envelope style of cushion back.  I overlocked the edge of the underlap, and stitched a row of blanket stitch along the edge of the overlap before working two rows of sc into it.  I worked some simple ch2 loops in the last row, and sewed on some bright buttons to keep it closed.

Ripple cushion by you.

The ripple cushion is a rectangular piece folded in half and seamed.  If I want to take out the insert I’ll have to undo one of the sides, but that shouldn’t really be a problem.

Crocheted cushions by you.

They really do look good together, don’t they!  All that colourful, cosy, squishy goodness.