craft, crochet, wool-eater blanket, work in progress, yarn stash

Keeping on hooking

For some time I’ve been considering making a doily.  I crochet, right?  Well surely I can’t REALLY be a crocheter unless I’ve made a doily.  Aren’t doilies synonymous with crochet?  But to crochet a doily, you need thread, a pattern, and some very fine crochet hooks.  I have the crochet thread, I have plenty of doily patterns (thanks to some vintage patterns in my collection and thanks to the internet) and now I have some very fine hooks.

Crochet hooks by you.

See all those metal hooks with bamboo handles on the left?  See how teeny tiny (or tiny winy as Clare would say) those hooks are?  How on earth am I going to manipulate those when I’m used to 8ply yarn with a 4.5 – 6.5 mm hook!  But never fret, I will give it a go.  I bought the lovely coloured hooks on the right from the same eBay seller, since I needed a few bigger ones and some duplicates of sizes I commonly use (which I tend to leave with the associated project).  I’ll break them in on the June Hip to Hook yarn and patterns.

Hip to Hook - June 09 by you.

And in case anyone has been wondering how the wool-eater blanket is progressing – the answer is extremely slowly. 

Wool Eater Blanket - row 14 by you.

I’m working on the 14th colour round.  Considering I’m planning on 30 colour rounds, and this blanket is increasing in size every round, I wouldn’t anticipate it being finished this year.  It’s now almost too large to carry around, so I’m restricted to working on it at home, and I keep getting distracted by quick-fix crochet projects.  I reckon there’s more chance of the doily being finished before this blanket.