cocoon cardigan

There are so many talented people sharing information free on the internet.  One of those talented and generous people is Kelli from True Bias.  When I read her tutorial for a Cocoon Cardigan I quickly filed it away for future reference and just the right piece of fabric.  When I came across some soft merino jersey in Rathdowne Fabrics a little while ago I knew that it was time to get the tutorial out.

True Bias Cocoon Cardigan

This was a very straightforward garment to make, and it’s one size fits most. I am quite short, and if I make it again I’ll remove some of the depth so that it isn’t quite so long. However, I was looking for a comfortable, cozy, slouchy garment, and this is what I got!

True Bias Cocoon Cardigan

There are gathers at the upper back to the neckline for some shaping around the body, and this is a very straightforward sew. Kelli’s instructions are terrific, and in this jersey the cardigan folds and falls in a very soft and warm way.

True Bias Cocoon Cardigan

I used vliesofix tape to stabilise hem edges before twin stitching them in place. Interestingly, I recently acquired a vintage pattern that includes a very similar cardigan, although for a woven! Everything old is new again.

vintage Vogue 8458

If you’re looking for a quick sewing fix that doesn’t really require fitting, or to make a gift for someone else, this is a wonderful tutorial to use.  I have worn mine surprisingly often this winter!

True Bias Cocoon Cardigan


  1. This looks great on you Lara. I was wearing my version of this pattern today – in a lighter knit so it’s works for the summer too (and with the warmer weather today it was ideal).

  2. This looks fantastic! I’ve tried this pattern, but it ends up so long and doesn’t fit around the back side like yours! Any ideas you can give me? Thanks

Leave a Reply

