miscellaneous · sewing · sewing room

thread storage

My sewing threads are currently stored either on a plastic upright rack (reds, pinks, yellows, purples) or in a large plastic box (blues and greens) or on the small rack in my sewing cabinet (brown, black and white).  I have a lot of thread, and my current storage system is one that evolved rather than was planned.  But recently I became the proud owner of these threads as part of a bargain bulk buy with some other crafty friends.  There was no way that my current thread storage system – already overloaded and piecemeal – was going to cope with these.

20130814_193153

Now, that’s a LOT of Gutermann! It has been the motivator though to work out a better way of storing my threads. At first I wondered about getting my father to build me a huge timber thread rack, but then there would be issues of portability (I like to take most of my threads with me when I go Sewjourning), storage space, and dust collection. In last week’s Aldi catalogue I spotted these:

20130814_193520

See the stackable food container in the right? $5.99 for the set of three. So I went out yesterday when they went on sale, and bought quite a few. I also picked up the tea bag storer for the same price while I was there – there are other craft things that will be nicely organised in that. And last night I made a start on sorting my threads into the stackable food containers.

20130814_193952

I can fit 21 spools into each tray. I love that they are flat so that I can see the colours, and I’ll arrange them according to colour. Guess what is going to fill in a couple of hours today? Now I just need a storage solution for my overlocker thread, currently in a cardboard box.

20130814_193242

And if you’ve got any suggestions for good ways to store the myriad of zips that I bought in the same bulk buy as the thread, don’t hesitate to let me know!

20130814_193202

But wouldn’t you know it – even though I’ve had all these colours of threads and all these types and lengths of zips for a couple of months now, I still had to go out and buy a zip and some thread to get an exact match for the jacket that I’m making at the moment!

10 thoughts on “thread storage

  1. I store zips by size – all large ones together in a large desk file and all small ones (7″ & 9″) in a plastic jar. It works for me. I like your new thread storage solution. It’s nice to see how other sewists handle storage situations.

  2. I’m impressed with your thread storage–Thank you for sharing! I have separated my copious zip stash in to three categories: separating and non-separating lapped zippers and non-separating invisible zippers. They are stored in two different drawers and I plan on sorting through my stash when I work on projects.

  3. Oh wow, I am impressed that you have such a stash of much needed notions – now that is forward thinking! I can’t offer any tips on storage though because I just shoe boxes for the few notions I have to hand

  4. For zips, I use A4 sized pieces of corrugated cardboard (from cartons) and I pin the zips to the cardboard. Really long zips get folded over the cardboard “page” and pinned on the back as well.

    Then I punch holes in the pages and store them in a lever arch folder – so I have a book of zips (and ribbons, and appliques and other things that store better flat).

  5. Perhaps you should have mentioned how many zips you need to find storage for…!
    I am thinking I will go with plastic tubs sorted by size – not too deep though so it’s easy to rummage through.

    1. Hi there Kathy – we were lucky enough to get a bulk purchase from a sewing shop that was closing down, through GraysOnline.com. They are an online auction site. We put in a few bids and were the lucky winners!

Leave a Reply

