adult's clothing · sewing

McCalls 6395 #2

Despite having a drawer (or two) full of unopened and unused patterns begging for my attention, no sooner had I sewn McCalls 6395 than I cut out another one and made it all over again.  Except differently.

McCalls 6395

This time I made view B but with the collar from view C. The fabric is a ponte from Spotlight. The checks are woven on the diagonal, so I didn’t need to cut the pieces on the bias. There was also no way that I could easily match them at the seams, and believe me, I tried to figure it out.

McCalls 6395

As before, I cut size twelve, but this version fits me more snugly than the last. It’s interesting what results different fabrics give you. I left out the back zipper and cut the centre back on the fold. I sewed the neck band into a circle before attaching it to the dress. It still slips on over my head – just. Once again, I didn’t self line the sleeves. And once again, I was intending to use the reverse of the fabric for the collar and the hem band – but I forgot! This dress also has the sleeves and body shortened by around one and a quarter inches.

McCalls 6395

This time I used the overlocker for the entire dress construction, but then used a twin needle on my machine to topstitch the sleeve hems, the hem band, and the collar and collar facing into place. I am very happy with this dress, and received many positive comments on it when I wore it to work on Monday. I found a scarf in my cupboard that goes with it perfectly, and there are plenty of colours in the fabric that coordinate with my boot wardrobe and cardigan wardrobe. Fantastic!

McCalls 6395

10 thoughts on “McCalls 6395 #2

  1. I love this even more than the last one, and I didn’t think that was possible! Great job, Lara! And thanks for your email the other day – so helpful. You give me confidence.

Leave a Reply

