StyleARC Marita dress

Also known as the dress I was going to wear to the dinner.  I attended a professional association dinner on Friday night, and early last week I made this dress to wear to it.

StyleARC Marita knit dress

Then I read the weather forecast – and took a good hard look at the back of the dress on me and the need to wear “suck it all in” underwear with it – and made an alternative dress.  I did a whole lot of swapping from one dress to the other and back again when I was getting ready for the dinner, and in the end I went with the alternative dress.  Here’s a photo of the back of the Marita, in the interests of full sewing and fitting disclosure.

StyleARC Marita knit dress

But despite all of that, and the fact that I didn’t wear this dress to the dinner after all, it was lots of fun to sew! The pattern is the StyleARC Marita dress. I made size 12, which is my usual StyleARC size, but this is pretty tight. It’ still comfortable, because it’s a knit, but I need to stand up very straight with my tummy pulled in when wearing this – preferably with smoothing underwear as well.

StyleARC Marita knit dress

See that groovy cowl neckline and wrap type of effect in the front? SO easy. This is a simple dress to sew – actually, they claim that you can sew it in under an hour, and I think they are right. It was mainly constructed on the overlocker, with the machine used for just a few seams and the twin needled hems. The fabric came from Darn Cheap Fabrics. How incredibly green is that green!

StyleARC Marita knit dress

I suppose now that I’ll need to take some photos of the dress that I DID wear to the dinner!  And Sewjourning friends that wear a size 12 or thereabouts – I think that you should try this dress on – I reckon that this style would look GREAT on a couple of you!

16 thoughts on “StyleARC Marita dress

  1. Wow! Fantastico! That fabric is a knockout! I look at knit dresses like that with envy – no way I could wear that with my, ahem, lumpier bits :-) Looks great!

    You seem to make quite a few StyleARC patterns. How do you fidn the sizing? I haven’t tried them yet.

    • Hi Jenny. With StyleARC I generally buy the size pattern that I would buy in ready made clothing. This mostly seems to be working, although they still need some tweaks to get them “perfect”. I usually make them as per the pattern the first time around (other than “short woman” adjustments), then alter as needed the next time I make it up.

  2. Had the same problem with the fit of this dress. I love it, but too tight for me in the size I normally sew. Next time I make it, I’ll add some to the side seams so i don’t feel so “sausagey”. Love that green; just beautiful!

  3. This dress just jumped out at me from my Blogger Dashboard! It is simply gorgeous! What a wonderful print you’ve chosen to make this dress from…and I wear smoothing garments all the time! It’s just a fact of my life so I’m sure once you don some this dress will be as spectacular as you want it to be!

  4. That green really suits you and I love the print. It is such a shame you weren’t comfortable wearing it. You could always shorten it to a top. It would look equally good with black skinny jeans and ballet flats for autumn.

    • This would be easy to grade out at the waist and hips, because all the fancy shaping etc is higher up. I’d suggest going up a size to usual, because it is so fitted, then grading out as needed. I want to give this pattern another whirl and will grade out a bit next time.

  5. Pingback: Tessuti Lola tee | thornberry

Leave a Reply

