My creative space…

It’s been all about the hook lately.  I’ve discovered the joys of chunky yarn – the speed, the quick satisfaction!

My creative space

These hexagons have been sitting in my creative space for a few weeks, waiting to be rearranged into a bag. I crocheted over 50 of them, pinned them all together according to the pattern I was using, and discovered that in 8 ply yarn and with extra hexes to accomodate the handles I was using, the bag would be absolutely huge and way too heavy. Now I need to rearrange them again and pin them again using less than before – which means I’ll have hexagons left over. What shall I do with them?

In a spare hour on the weekend I whipped up a beanie for Mr Thornberry. And I do mean whipped up – in chunky Shadow Tweed yarn with a 9mm hook this took less than a hour to make.

Truffle shuffle skully

The pattern is Truffle Shuffle Skully.  I chained 21 instead of 19 to start off with, but probably could have done with 23 chain to fit better.  Have I already said that this was quick?

Truffle shuffle skully

In the past week I’ve also finished a chunky cardi for myself and have started on a poncho for Clare.  I need to crochet edging on a knitted vest for my Mum, and keep working on a shawl I’ve started.  Then there is the Wool-Eater Blanket I started about a year ago that could do with more work…but I also need to crochet a wrapped vest and some more shawls and and and and….

Pop over to see Kirsty and visit some more creative spaces!

13 thoughts on “My creative space…

  1. Hooking with chunky yarn is so very satisfying!!

    Re the extra hexagons – scarf? beanie? a little coin purse? cushion cover? They look like rather lovely hexes, it would be sad to see them sitting in the cupboard where no one can see them!!

  2. Pingback: Julia Beret « thornberry

Leave a Reply

